/ Blog / Google Cloud / G Suite / Google Drive FAQs, Answered

Google Drive FAQs, Answered

Google Drive Functionality

What happens if I remove a file from Drive?

If you own the file you remove, it’s automatically removed from Drive on all of your devices and on the web. Removed files are moved to Trash in Drive and still count towards your total storage, until you permanently delete them on the web.

How much storage do I have?

If your organization has G Suite, you have 30GB of storage across Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. If your organization has Google Apps Unlimited, you have unlimited storage (domains with fewer than 5 users get 1TB per user). If you’re unsure which edition your organization is using, ask your administrator.

What types of files can I upload to Drive?

You can upload any type of file to Drive—photos, designs, drawings, recordings, videos, and anything else you want to store.

How do I stop sharing files or folders?

You can stop sharing files and folders by changing the sharing settings.

How long do deleted files stay in Drive?

Removed files are moved to Trash in Drive; they remain in Trash and still count towards your total storage until you permanently delete them on the web.

How do I access my stored files on other devices?

After you store a file in Drive once, you can access it from any web browser on any device, or through the Drive app on any device.
For example, if you upload the file “video.mp4” to Drive on the web, you don’t have to manually upload it on your phone and tablet, too—you’ll automatically see it there. 

Logo for Google Cloud

eBook: Planning for a Multi-Cloud & Hybrid Cloud World

Learn how modern enterprises are benefiting and gaining a competitive advantage by embracing multi-cloud and hybrid cloud strategies with tips on overcoming security challenges and planning a successful multi-cloud migration.

Scroll to Top